May 9, 2009

Westward, Ho! The World's Largest Truck Stop

Posted in Look tagged , , , , at 10:11 pm by onetinyacorn

On Monday, my husband and I (frantically) packed up all of our earthly possessions, and set out on a 1,500 mile road trip to Laramie, Wyoming. Those who had made the trip along I-80 in the past scoffed, “There’s nothing to see along the way.” Liars! We found lots of nerdy diversions.

Indiana and Illinois were fairly uneventful. I can’t read in a moving vehicle, lest I become horribly nauseated, so I’ve always submitted to the zen of the road trip. Most people find driving through flat expanses of farmland to be boring, but I think that it’s beautiful, in its quiet way. We crossed the Mississippi River at night, with lights glittering and small boats gently rocking. It was our first peek at Iowa, a state that pleasantly surprised me.

As we left Davenport, Iowa early the next morning, we were met with the delightfully kitschy signage for The World’s Largest Truck Stop. Obviously, we had to stop there. Having completed two month-long road trips around the country in the past, I could appreciate the grandeur of this truck stop: they had showers, of course, but also a dentist, movie theaters, a trucking museum, lounging area, chapel, and anything you could possibly need to deck out your rig.

2 Comments »

  1. Siobhan said,

    I think I could live there. Do they need a librarian?

    • Erin said,

      One could live there pretty comfortably. Maybe the trucking museum is hiring? 🙂


Leave a Reply

