August 22, 2010

Rainbow Cupcakes

Posted in Look, Make tagged , , , at 8:09 pm by onetinyacorn

It’s no secret that I love rainbows, and I love baking. I’ve been wanting to make these rainbow cupcakes for a while now, and found the perfect excuse when we had guests stop by on their way to San Francisco.

Rainbow Cupcakes

I used the recipe found at Baking Bites, but I modified a few things:

1. I only used 2-3 drops of food coloring per color instead of the 1/2 teaspoon.

2. I added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter (in addition to the vanilla).

3. Instead of buttermilk, which I didn’t have on hand, I combined 1/2 cup of milk and a tablespoon of vinegar in a glass cup and let it curdle for a few minutes.

4. I only got 9 cupcakes, instead of the stated 10. But the baking time remained 15 minutes.

I almost always halve frosting amounts; I just find giant towers of buttercream to be rather excessive (that’s not fat-conscientiousness talking–I ate a large slab of brie yesterday without remorse). So in lieu of their frosting recipe, I used:

2 tablespoons butter, room temperature

1 tablespoon milk

few drops of vanilla extract

approximately 1 cup of powdered sugar

Mix all together to a consistency and taste that you like.

Leave a Reply

