November 4, 2010

Halloween 2010

Posted in Look, Make tagged , , , , , at 8:50 pm by onetinyacorn

Ah, what a difference a year makes. Last Halloween, I was pretty new to town, and bummed that I didn’t have any local friends yet. This year, I spent three fun-filled days with some of my most favorite people. Here’s the breakdown:

Friday: So, one of my jobs at the library is to basically organize and  host parties. Sweet, right? We had lots of attendees show up to carve pumpkins, decorate cupcakes, and make masquerade masks. Afterward, I high-tailed it to a distant, exotic land (Colorado) to catch a late showing of Paranormal Activity 2 (while still wearing my Superwoman costume).

Paranormal Activity 2 was fairly scary, and much better than its predecessor. Although I recommend watching the first one as well, because they pick up some threads from that one and weave them together nicely. One thing that annoys me about both movies are the characters, though. I find them to be grating, and the women come across as hysterical. Weak.

Then there was costume-gazing about town, and giant $2 slices of pizza and cheap beer amidst punk music at Surfside 7 in Fort Collins. I loved that place.

Saturday: Medusa night! We went out to a local bar, and I got tons of compliments on my costume.

Here’s how I made the costume:

Materials: 6 foot-long rubber snakes, lime green duct tape, and green plastic-coated copper wire (20 gauge–it came in a 50-foot spool). Makeup that I had lying around the house.

I unwound the wire, and duct taped it along the bottom of each snake, using 1/4 inch strips of tape and placing them every 2 inches or so along the length of the snake. After all 6 were wired, I constructed a “hat” out of them by weaving them together and using long, thin strips of duct tape where two snakes intersected.

The makeup was just a shimmery gold cream, with iridescent gold-orange powder applied liberally on top so that it wouldn’t smear. I used lots of deep purple eyeshadow in an attempt to create a “smoky eye.”

Sunday: Soooo sleepy. My snowflake friend and I (Superwoman again) left work and grabbed a drink and delicious fried foods at a bar. And then I slept very soundly, for a long time.

And thus ended my favorite weekend of the year. Perhaps next year I’ll make it a whole week. I’m already thinking about my next costume…

2 Comments »

  1. liz said,

    you look amazing!


Leave a Reply

